Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Sardonyx - Majestic Serenity

  1. Puppet Of Beauty
  2. Paracletos
  3. Corridor To Light
  4. Short But Suite: Opus In D Flat
  5. Royal Honor
  6. Heavenly Throne
  7. Ft. Drum
  8. Holy Avenger
  9. Call Upon The Master
  10. Voice Of The Prodigal
  11. Liar

Was in a Metal mood this morning, and I wanted to hear something I hadn't played to death, so I got out this obscure but awesome disc to spin.  Sardonyx is a Christian power metal band from, I believe, Mount Joy, Pennsylvania.  They are affiliated with Lightshine Ministries.  Sardonyx play Power Metal with some Thrash and Progressive Metal elements added in as well.  At times, they remind me of Barren Cross, especially on the track "Liar", which would have fit easily on Barren Cross's "State Of Control" cd.

Those who want their Christian musicians to be bold and up front about their faith should find no problem with Sardonyx.  They call their music "Worship Metal," and for good reason. Lyrics like "My soul finds rest in God alone, My salvation comes from Him.  He alone is my Rock, my salvation, He's my fortress, I will never be shaken,"and "Father, I love you Father, I want to do your will.  You saved me from the hands of satan, my life is yours to fill," (from 'Royal Honor',) are typical. This is the only full length cd they ever produced, and it's rather hard to find.  They were offering it as a free download on their website, but the site is no longer functioning.  You may still be able to find it somewhere on the internet.  If you're a fan of classic Christian Metal, it's worth your time to find a copy.

No comments:

Post a Comment